Foundation As Skincare: High End vs. Low End.

I’m swaying away from my usual posts with this one; well slightly with the make-up side of things. Foundation is often a personal preference in terms of the look; from matte to dewy, from high coverage to a light buildable coverage, and also personal in terms of how it treats your skin! 

Before this time last year I suffered with very problematic skin. Eventually I had enough and threw out my drugstore foundation; Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection. Maybe the cheap and cheerful foundation wasn’t as cheerful for my skin than it was for my bank balance. My skin seemed to dislike every drugstore foundation I had tried; shown in angry spots, frustrated dried skin, a irritating cakey feel and not to mention the tangerine look I seemed to get! With this in mind I aimed for a higher end product to see what the hype was about. Being late to jump on the bandwagon (a usual for me) I came across MAC Pro Longwear. And I have to say, I have so much love for this foundation!

It has a glowy but none oily formula, buildable coverage but a natural finish, and incredible lasting power. However, recently, after scrapping out the very last few drops, I thought it was about time I tried a drugstore foundation once again. I decided to pull back out my L’Oréal True Match foundation (Ivory) due to the raving reviews I have recently heard. This was the perfect chance to see the difference of a high end and a lower end foundation especially due to the hype each one has attracted over the last few years. So I thought I would do a little comparison for you in terms of their formula, application and finish, and how they treat my skin.

2a

FORMULA: The L’Oréal Foundation consistency is quite runny; a lot runnier than other foundations I have used. With this in mind, it is surprising that you don’t need a lot for a good coverage. However, it claims the formula provides 24hr hydration which I disagree with. Since using it my skin has felt a lot drier and I have had to spend more time hydrating it with creams and serums. In comparison, the Mac foundation seems to lock in skin moisture.

APPLYING: After noticing L’Oréal’s claim of ‘super-blendable’ I was excited to see just how easy it is to apply. However, using my usual Real Techniques Expert Face brush, this foundation seemed to hold a streaky finish. I had to use my fingers to blend however this pulled off the foundation rather than smoothing out the lines. Despite this, the feel of L’Oréal True Match on the skin is very light; almost felt like I had nothing on which is in line with the Mac Foundation.

FINISH: After the struggle of application, the finish of L’Oréal True Match was surprising. It gave a slight glowiness and it seemed to stay on all day. Similarly, the Mac foundation has brilliant staying power; living up to its name of ‘pro longwear’ however it does add more of a glowing and dewy finish than the L’Oréal foundation. Due to naturally having quite a dull skin tone, this is a must have for me to brighten up my complexion.

Upon reflection, I am quite impressed with the L’Oréal foundation. After having bad experiences with drugstore foundations I was pessimistic about trying it. Nevertheless, I was shocked by the lasting power, the coverage and natural look. With that being said, it did dry out my skin and I’ve also been greeted with some new spots. Thus, in terms of caring for my skin I will return to my Mac foundation very soon. Skincare over low cost, right? I am however happy to have a drugstore foundation, L’Oréal, as a back-up.

E x

Follow me on Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “Foundation As Skincare: High End vs. Low End.

  1. I have never tried a high-end foundation, but the MAC one seems a good one to begin with. Nowadays I’m really happy with my True Match and the Infallible one. Have you tried the Max Factor Infinity All Day Flawless 3 in 1 foundation? I really like it, it doesn’t feel dry at all and it has a good amount of coverage.
    Have a good day! xx

    selenaponcestyle.blogspot.com.es

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No I haven’t tried that one; I’ll definitely give that a go, thank you! I’m determined to find a drugstore foundation that doesn’t dry out my skin. And if you are wanting to give a high end foundation a go I would definitely recommend Mac; it’s a heaven to apply and wear.
      Thank you for your lovely comment. Have a good day!

      I will be having a read of your blog!
      Emma xx

      Like

  2. I’ve always said it’s worth investing in a high end foundation, if nothing else, as they are definitely a lot better. I haven’t used a drugstore foundation in years, but last week I decided to give the L’Oreal Infalliable 24hr one a go, and I have to say I’m actually very impressed! I really want to try the Mac Pro Longwear after reading this though!

    The Velvet Black | UK Style & Beauty Blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I have found incredible differences between a high end and drugstore foundation! Wow, I’ll have to give the L’Oreal Infalliable foundation a go; maybe drugstore foundations are upping their game haha!
      I really recommend Mac, best foundation I’ve tried. Never fails!

      Thank you for your comment!
      Emma x

      Like

Leave a Reply

