An Enveloped Future

‘Results day’ are two words that every student dreads. The unknown. The what if’s. The possible destruction of your life as the world is threatened by the arrival of green monsters with razor sharp teeth, tearing everything you know apart! Ok, maybe that’s slightly far-fetched. However the weight of your own satisfaction is almost as powerful. This is the day you’ve been working for; all those hours of studying, all those pencils you’ve broken in frustration, all those cups of coffee that you’ve poured down your throat. All of it leading up to this moment. The moment you look unnerved by the brown envelope in front of you.  An insignificant piece of paper holds the answers to your future; whether you got the GCSEs or A Levels you wanted, whether the latter has given you the key to your chosen university. ‘What’s in there?!’ Ying or Yang?

Two years ago I opened my brown envelope, fearing the black and white writing inside. Thankfully, I was pleased with what I saw. Just pleased? I hear you ask. No, I was ecstatic, the happiest I had ever been. I couldn’t believe I had been accepted into my first choice university. YIPPEE!

RD 1a

After two years of being at university, I feel though I’ve settled and all this seems years and years ago. This is what makes watching the unraveling of results day very interesting. “It doesn’t matter” are three words that I’ve seen each year over social media. However they are three words I don’t believe. Lets face it, results day is terrifying, right? I’ve been there and I don’t think I’ve ever been more scared. It is easy to bury your head in the sand and believe it doesn’t matter.

However, your future is in your grasp. Go on, grab it! Surely it’s natural human ambition where your mind automatically gives you a thumbs up or thumbs down no matter how much you consciously think it doesn’t matter. It’s the day you’ve been working for. Spend it celebrating with champagne and hearing your family say “you’re all grown up now!”

I wish you all the best of luck. You’ve got this!

E x

Leave a Reply

