The Euphoric Green

Many long nights, cups and cups of coffee poured down your throat, scribbled handwriting desperately trying to remember that theorist and their theory fading from your mind. These are the actions every student knows all too well. It’s the exam season. The worst part is seeing the sunny weather outside but instead you are stuck indoors, sat at your desk, rattling your brain.

Now this time has passed, I can finally put my feet up. Each year as we enter the summer months and move further from the taunting exams, I prepare myself for returning home for the summer. FREEDOM!

My bags are packed with shorts, t-shirts and summer dresses; each item hopeful of sunny weather. I’m off on my travels back to my family home. The place I have gained height, experience and wisdom. The place where I have welcomed my brother and sister, new pets and new friends. The place where I have dreamt, hoped and loved. The place that has witnessed my downfalls but yet my achievements. The place I have grown, learnt who I am and who I want to become.

I lug my bags, reminding me I am yet to master the art of light packing, to the station to catch my train. After three hours and three different trains I arrive in a small town in the middle of nowhere. My home town. As I step off the train and onto the platform, I realise how different it is to the life my feet left as clambering onto the train. I left a busy and bubbly city, and arrived in a small quiet town surrounded by countryside. It’s a complete change of pace. A life that blows away the cobwebs that is the hustle and bustle of the city, the constant sirens and car horns, and welcomes a world of many shades of green.

Bee option 4Bee option 1b

Although the hustle and bustle of the city may be exactly that, hustle and bustle, I’ve become accustomed to that life. It’s a breath of fresh air in the way of quirky ideas, a busy city centre, style and change. A different fresh air to that felt in the countryside. A river of people flow past you going about their day to day lives. People with their own stories, hopes and occupations in life. I’m constantly fascinated by the tales behind each one of those thousands of faces which whizz past me in the city; how did he get to where he is today? What are her dreams?

This life seems on a completely different end of the spectrum to a life in the countryside. Here woodland and fields are only a short walk away and ‘quiet’ is heard on a more intimate level.

River option

Being home in a countryside town I realise how quiet and peaceful life can be. Since moving into the city and adopting a fast pace, upbeat student lifestyle, you forget the revitalising power of nature. It is like an antidote for the hustle and bustle of a city. From the country walks available right on your doorstep to watching dusk settle while sat in the garden with the comforting sound of rustling trees and birds calling; you certainly realise the euphoric power of green.  It provides a well needed rest until returning back to my bustling yet charming student life in the city.

E x

One thought on “The Euphoric Green

Leave a Reply

